Businesses: concerned about Coronavirus? Learn More logo

Business First Steps

Index of State of Delaware Business Licenses and Registrations

Harness Racing (Horses)

Licenses for each horse that will be nominated for racing

The Delaware Standardbred Breeders’ Fund is an appointed 11 member board created to oversee a state bred breeding program. The daily activities are performed by a hired administrator. The Administrator oversees the Sires Program and the Racing Program which consists of 48 races per year divided equally between the states’ two harness tracks, Dover Downs and Harrington Raceway. The Fund also markets Delaware Bred Horses at major Standardbred sales, supports educational events such as the Harness Horse Youth Camp, an annual New Owners’ Seminar, and other events around the state with the major day being Governor’s Day at the Delaware State Fair in July. All fees are required to maintain eligibility to the Breeders’ Fund races and bonus programs. The Harness Racing Commission issues licenses for many professions within the harness racing industry, including horse owners, trainers, drivers, grooms, and track personnel who fall under the umbrella of pari-mutuel racing.

More Information and

Department: Agriculture

Division: Delaware Standardbred Breeders’ Fund


Stallion Nominations are December 1 of each year with a late payment of January 1 each year. Yearling nominations are May 15 annually, 2-Year old fees are fees are March 15 and May 15 each year; and 3-Year old fees are February 15 each year.


Stallions-$500; Yearlings – $40; 2-Year olds – $100, $350, and $200; 3-Year olds – $300 ($100 2-YO payment is a continuing payment – allows them to race as a 3-YO. $200 payment allows 2-YO horse to race in current year; $350 payment is supplemental payment for 2-YO horses that missed the $40 Yearling payment)

Application Form

Forms Page

Applicable Laws

Applicable Rules and Regulations


Judy Davis-Wilson can be contacted by email at and by phone at 302-698-4610.


This search covers most of the frequently requested licenses, certifications, registrations, and filings that the State of Delaware requires. However, this is not a fully exhaustive list of every possible requirement. Please consult with the appropriate state agencies to find out if there are additional requirements you must fulfill.

Related Topics:  , , , , ,

First Steps Feedback

Let us know how we can make this page better.

If we have questions about your update, we might need to reach out to you.