Lead Activity Firms
For contractors and firms that deal with lead paint removal, abatement, or renovation
Delaware law requires contractors that disturb painted surfaces in homes, child care facilities and schools built before 1978 to be certified and follow specific work practices to prevent lead contamination. The mission of the Healthy Homes and Lead Poisoning Prevention Program is to protect the health of Delawareans by preventing childhood lead poisoning and promoting health among children (0 – 6 years of age) through education, safe environments, screening and early intervention.
Department: Health and Social Services
Division: Public Health
Office: Healthy Homes and Lead Poisoning Prevention
For individuals as well as firms and companies, certification lasts for aproximately two years.
The application fee for an Abatement Worker is $50.00. All other fees are $100.00 for a two-year certification.
Apply Online (Fillable)
Online Fillable PDF Forms available (scroll down on this page): http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dph/hsp/leadregcomm.html
Licensure renewal forms are sent to the facilities and individuals bi-annually, prior to the expiration of the current license. Please contact our office with any questions or to obtain a renewal.
Applicable Rules and Regulations
Registry of Licenses Search
Certified Lead Renovators: http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dph/hsp/files/leadcertrrp.pdf and Lead Certified Abatement Contractors: http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dph/hsp/files/leadcert.pdf
This search covers most of the frequently requested licenses, certifications, registrations, and filings that the State of Delaware requires. However, this is not a fully exhaustive list of every possible requirement. Please consult with the appropriate state agencies to find out if there are additional requirements you must fulfill.