Delaware.gov logo

Business First Steps Business First Steps Business First Steps

Equine

Harness Racing

Licenses for owners, trainers, drivers, agents, and groomers.

The Delaware Department of Agriculture Harness Racing Commission regulates and oversees the sport of Harness racing in the state. The commission is also responsible for ensuring that the state and the betting public receive their fair percentages of the wagering dollar by overseeing periodic accounting audits.

More Information

http://dda.delaware.gov/harness/

Division: Harness Racing Commission

Term

Licenses are valid for such other period as permitted by the Harness Racing Commission. The Commission may establish provisions for temporary licenses or may permit applicants to participate in racing pending action on an application.

Fee

Owner, Trainer, and Driver licenses may be obtained for up to 3 years. The fee for a 3-year license is $150. Authorized agent and vendor licenses are $50 and for one year. Groom license is $20 and for one year. All license fees under the Harness Racing Commission is $50. However, the fee for applying for only a groom's license shall be $20.

Application Form

https://dda.delaware.gov/harness/forms.shtml

Applicable Laws

http://delcode.delaware.gov/title3/c100/sc01/

Applicable Rules and Regulations

http://regulations.delaware.gov/AdminCode/title3/500/

Contact

Mark Davis can be contacted by email at mark.davis@state.de.us and by phone at 302-698-4559.

Notice

This search covers most of the frequently requested licenses, certifications, registrations, and filings that the State of Delaware requires. However, this is not a fully exhaustive list of every possible requirement. Please consult with the appropriate state agencies to find out if there are additional requirements you must fulfill.

Start a new search


+