Delaware.gov logo

Business First Steps Business First Steps Business First Steps

Equine

Thoroughbred Racing

The Delaware Thoroughbred Racing Commission consists of five members appointed by the Governor. The Commission is responsible for maintaining the integrity of racing. The Commission receives applications for occupational licenses within Delaware's thoroughbred industry, including horse owners, trainers, track personnel, jockey's, jockey agents, exercise persons, stable employees, vendors, Veterinarians and their assistants, farriers, racing officials, partnerships, stable names, and authorized agents.

More Information

http://dda.delaware.gov/thoroughbred/index.shtml

Department: Agriculture

Division: Thoroughbred Racing Commission

Term

License terms for Thoroughbred Racing can either be a one-year or a three-year license. (Owners/Trainers/Partnerships) Occupational licenses are only good for one year (calendar year). Other categories for license are $30.00 for Veterinarians, farriers, Jockeys, apprentice jockeys, jockey agents, and assistant trainers. $15.00 for all licensed vendors and vendor employees. $5.00 for all stable employees and association employees.

Fee

The cost for a Thoroughbred Owner or Trainer's License is $50 for a one-year license, and $150 for a three-year license. Prints are $79 if processed through DTRC payable to DTRC.

Application Form

http://dda.delaware.gov/thoroughbred/forms_and_apps.shtml

Applicable Laws

http://delcode.delaware.gov/title3/c101/index.shtml

Applicable Rules and Regulations

http://dda.delaware.gov/thoroughbred/forms_and_apps.shtml
or www.arci.com or racinglicense.com (National Racing Compact)

Contact

John Wayne can be contacted by email at john.wayne@state.de.us and by phone at 302-994-2521 Ext 8970.

Notice

This search covers most of the frequently requested licenses, certifications, registrations, and filings that the State of Delaware requires. However, this is not a fully exhaustive list of every possible requirement. Please consult with the appropriate state agencies to find out if there are additional requirements you must fulfill.

Start a new search


+