Delaware.gov logo

Business First Steps Business First Steps Business First Steps

Environmental Protection

Scientific Collecting

Permit to collect protected wildlife, finfish, shellfish or their nests or eggs for scientific, education or propagating purposes

No person or persons shall take, capture, have in possession or transport protected wildlife, finfish, shellfish, or their nests or eggs for scientific, education or propagating purposes except as authorized by a permit from the Director of the Division of Fish and Wildlife in accordance with existing laws and regulations. Permits issued under this section may establish any conditions and/or restrictions deemed appropriate by the Division of Fish and Wildlife. No protected wildlife, finfish, shellfish or their eggs held in captivity under said permit shall be confined under inhumane or unsanitary conditions. Each permit issued under this section shall expire on the date set forth in the permit, or on the last day of the calendar year in which it is issued if no date is set forth in the permit. Permits are revocable at the discretion of the Director of the Division of Fish and Wildlife.Each person receiving a permit under this section must file with the Division of Fish and Wildlife a report within 30 days after the expiration date of said permit. Whoever violates this section or any rule and regulation adopted pursuant to this section shall be guilty of a class C environmental misdemeanor for each offense.

Department: DNREC

Division: Fish and Wildlife

Office: Wildlife

Term

Fisheries permits are for the calendar year. Wildlife permits are 1 year from date of issue.

Fee

None

Application Form

Please contact the office for forms and more information.

Applicable Laws

http://delcode.delaware.gov/title7/c005/sc04/index.shtml
-
http://delcode.delaware.gov/title7/c009/index.shtml

Applicable Rules and Regulations

http://regulations.delaware.gov/AdminCode/title7/3000/3900%20Wildlife/index.shtml#TopOfPage

Contact

Kim Stangl for fisheries - Karen Kennedy for wildlife can be contacted by email at kim.stangl@state.de.us and karen.kennedy@state.de.us and by phone at 302-739-9912 and 302-739-9914.

Notice

This search covers most of the frequently requested licenses, certifications, registrations, and filings that the State of Delaware requires. However, this is not a fully exhaustive list of every possible requirement. Please consult with the appropriate state agencies to find out if there are additional requirements you must fulfill.

Start a new search


+